ROWlast reviewed

Crypto perpetual futures on Flipster: contracts, fees, funding and margin

Flipster lists USDT-settled crypto perpetual futures with entry-tier fees of 0.02% maker and 0.06% taker and funding exchanged between traders every 4 or 8 hours depending on the contract; positions are leveraged, are liquidated without notice when the mark price reaches the liquidation price, and can lose more than you put in.

Risk warning Not financial advice. Crypto is highly volatile and may drop in value significantly. You may lose the amounts you invest and your investments do not benefit from any form of financial protection.

Flipster’s Derivatives Trading Terms say: “you can lose up to your entire deposit in a very short period of time. The amount you may lose is potentially unlimited and can exceed the amount which you originally deposit with us.” flipster.io/policies/derivatives, last updated 13 February 2026.

Check the contract rulesCheck your eligibility

Terms common to Flipster crypto perpetual contracts, from the perpetual swaps, margin and fee guides at flipster.io/support/guide, read 2026-10-11. Per-contract terms are in the BTCUSDT sheet below.
Contract typePerpetual swap, no expiry date
Quoted and settled inUSDT
Funding intervalEvery 4 or 8 hours, by contract
Funding is exchangedBetween traders, no platform charge
Maker fee, VIP00.02%
Taker fee, VIP00.06%
Margin modesIsolated and cross
Positions and pending ordersUp to 50 per symbol
Liquidation triggerMark price reaches the liquidation price
Trading hours24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Provided byFlipster Corp (Panama)

How a perpetual futures contract works on Flipster

source flipster.io/support/guide/perpetual-swapsread 2026-10-11

A perpetual futures contract, also called a perpetual swap, is a futures contract with no expiry date. You post margin in USDT, go long or short, and hold the position until you close it or it is liquidated.

  1. Index price. Last prices from major exchanges are averaged, every second.

  2. Mark price. Flipster calculates a fair-price mark for the contract.

  3. Funding. At each funding timestamp, longs and shorts exchange a payment.

  4. Liquidation threshold. If the mark price reaches your liquidation price, the position is closed.

01020304 8 exchanges: last prices average, per second index price fair price method mark pricecalculated by Flipster funding positive: longs pay shorts longsshorts funding negative: shorts pay longs liquidation price mark price entry price long: mark price falls
Figure 1. From index price to liquidation threshold, shown for a long BTCUSDT position. Sources: Flipster perpetual swaps guide and Derivatives Trading Terms, read 2026-10-11.

Index price and mark price

The index is the reference for the underlying market. On BTCUSDT it averages last prices from eight exchanges and updates every second.

The mark price is Flipster’s own figure: the Derivatives Trading Terms define it as the fair market value of the contract, as calculated by Flipster. Liquidation is measured against it. See the mark price, index price and margin definitions.

Funding between longs and shorts

Funding is a cost or a credit between traders; Flipster’s guide says the platform levies no additional cost on it. When the funding fee is positive, longs pay shorts. When it is negative, shorts pay longs.

It is exchanged every 4 or 8 hours, depending on the contract, and only on positions held at the funding timestamp. It is not a return paid by the venue. The guide has the funding rate formula and worked examples.

Margin and settlement in USDT

Contracts are quoted and settled in USDT. You gain or lose USDT as the price moves; you do not own or receive the coin.

Margin is the collateral behind a leveraged position: initial margin opens it and maintenance margin keeps it open. Which assets count as initial margin depends on the asset mode.

Margin terms from the Flipster margin guide, flipster.io/support/guide/margin-trading, read 2026-10-11.
Settlement assetUSDT
Initial marginCollateral placed to open a leveraged position
Maintenance marginMinimum collateral to keep a position open
Single-asset modeOnly USDT and Trading Bonus as initial margin
Cross-asset modeA list of marginable assets

Contract specification: BTCUSDT as the example

source flipster.io/support/trading-rulesread

BTCUSDT.PERP contract terms. Read from the live contract page on 2026-10-11: flipster.io/support/trading-rules/contract/BTCUSDT.PERP. Order, position and open-interest limits are platform-wide maximums and vary by trading tier.
ContractPerpetual swap on the BTC USDT index
Contract size1 BTC
Quoted and settled inUSDT
ExpiryNone
Funding intervalEvery 8 hours
Funding times (UTC)00:00, 08:00, 16:00
Base interest rate (8H)0.01%
Funding cap0.3000%
Mark methodFair price
Auto-deleveragingEnabled
Minimum price increment (tick)0.1 USDT
Lot size0.000001 BTC
Minimum order (notional)1 USDT
Maximum order (notional)3,000,000 USDT
Maximum position (notional)3,000,000 USDT
Maximum open interest480,000,000 USDT
Maximum slippage0.80%
Index constituentsBinance, Bitget, Bybit, Coinbase Pro, Gate.io, KuCoin, MEXC, OKX

Every contract has its own rules page. BTCUSDT is the example: one contract is worth 1 BTC and funding is exchanged three times a day.

The order, position and open-interest figures are platform-wide maximums. The contract page states that your own order and position limits may vary with your assigned trading tier.

Funding schedules differ by contract. The gold contract, XAUUSDT, exchanges funding every 4 hours with a cap of 0.5000%, against every 8 hours and 0.3000% here. See perpetuals on gold, US stocks and ETFs.

BTCUSDT is one of 243 perpetual contract pages, crypto and TradFi together, in the sitemap on 6 October 2026. Terms can change: check the live page at flipster.io/support/trading-rules/contract/BTCUSDT.PERP before you trade.

What a trade costs at the entry tier

source flipster.io/support/guide/feesread 2026-10-11

The entry tier, VIP0, has no volume or balance requirement. A maker order costs 0.02% of the filled value and a taker order 0.06%. The fee is charged on each fill, so opening and closing a position are two separate charges.

Trading fee = filled quantity x executed price x maker or taker fee

Worked example: fee on 10,000 USDT of notional at VIP0

Filled quantity x executed price
10,000 USDT
As maker, 0.02%
2 USDT
As taker, 0.06%
6 USDT
Open and close, both as taker
12 USDT

Per side, at the entry-tier rates read on 2026-10-11. The round trip assumes the same notional on both fills. A cost illustration only, not a trading result.

Funding payments and the liquidation fee are separate from trading fees. Funding moves between traders; the liquidation fee is set out in the liquidation section below.

Last reviewed . Maker and taker fees at five of the 12 VIP tiers.
TierMakerTakerRequirement
VIP0 (entry tier)0.02%0.06%None
VIP10.02%0.058%0.5M USDT 30-day volume or 10,000 USDT balance
VIP40.018%0.048%10M USDT 30-day volume or 100,000 USDT balance
VIP80.013%0.036%100M USDT 30-day volume
VIP110.01%0.025%1,000M USDT 30-day volume

Maker rates apply to futures only; taker rates to spot and futures. Balance means the 24-hour average asset balance in USDT. The live fee page shows no “last updated” date.

One correction to the live home page FAQ, which says fees “start at 0.025%”: 0.025% is the taker rate of the top tier, VIP11. The entry-tier taker rate is 0.06%.

The table shows five tiers. For the rest, see the full fee schedule with all 12 VIP tiers.

Margin modes and leverage

source flipster.io/support/guide/margin-tradingread 2026-10-11

Each position is either isolated or cross. One symbol can carry up to 50 positions or pending orders.

Isolated margin

Margin is allocated per position. The collateral you assign backs that one position and is not shared with your other positions.

CollateralAllocated to one position

Cross margin

Margin is shared across your cross positions. Because they draw on the same collateral, a liquidation may affect all of your cross positions, not only the one that moved against you.

CollateralShared across cross positions

Leverage limits

Flipster sets the maximum leverage per contract and per region in the contract’s “Leverage and margin” table and may amend it, with the initial and maintenance margin requirements, from time to time. This page prints no multiplier, and the maintenance-margin tiers are not reproduced because the live table is not served as text. For Dubai, the rulebook for firms licensed by VARA, such as Flipster FZE under VASP Licence VL/26/07/002, limits Retail Investors to the leverage shown here. That is a rule of the regime, not a statement that Flipster FZE offers perpetual futures.

Retail limit in the Dubai rulebook5-to-1, with 20% minimum initial marginExchange Services Rulebook, margin and leverage limits

Liquidation, the insurance fund and auto-deleveraging

source flipster.io/policies/derivativeslast updated 2026-02-13

Liquidation is automatic. Under the Derivatives Trading Terms, if the mark price hits the liquidation price, the position is closed without prior notice. The service runs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so margin calls and liquidations can happen at any hour.

The margin guide describes the sequence. When collateral falls below the maintenance margin, a Backstop Liquidity Provider unwinds the position. If it is closed at a better price than the bankruptcy price, the remaining margin goes to the Insurance Fund. If there is a shortfall, the Insurance Fund covers it.

When the Insurance Fund cannot absorb a position, the terms allow counterparty liquidation, which can close a profitable position on the other side. The BTCUSDT contract page lists auto-deleveraging as enabled.

The formula and worked examples are in the guide on how to calculate a liquidation price.

Flipster Derivatives Trading Terms, clauses 4.1.5 to 4.1.8 and 4.2, last updated 2026-02-13, flipster.io/policies/derivatives, and the margin guide, flipster.io/support/guide/margin-trading. Read 2026-10-11.
TriggerMark price hits the liquidation price
Prior noticeNone
Liquidation feeHalf of the maintenance margin of the liquidated position
Margin left after the feeGoes to the Insurance Fund
ShortfallCovered by the Insurance Fund
If the fund cannot absorb the positionCounterparty liquidation, which can close a profitable position
Auto-deleveraging on BTCUSDTEnabled
When it can happenAt any time, 24 hours a day

Where perpetual futures are available

ROWsources read

Perpetual futures by region: provider, regulatory status and availability, as shown in the published sources.
RegionProviderRegulatory statusPerpetual futures
Global, where permittedFlipster Corp (Panama)No licence or regulator is stated on the siteProvided under the Derivatives Trading Terms, except in the Prohibited Jurisdictions listed on the site. The current list is not reproduced here.
United Arab EmiratesFlipster FZE (Dubai)Licensed by VARA for Exchange Services under VASP Licence VL/26/07/002. Its Public Disclosure describes spot trading only.Not shown in the published sources. This page does not say that the licence covers perpetual futures.
PolandNone: service ceasedNo licence or registration is stated on the siteReduce-only from 2 February 2026 and ceased on 13 February 2026, according to the notice to customers in Poland.
United Kingdom, European Union, Japan, South KoreaNone statedNo licence or registration is stated on the siteThis site has no page aimed at retail clients in these places.

Availability depends on where you live and on which Flipster company serves you. The table records what the published sources show. Where they are silent, it says so.

The live home page tells users that eligibility varies by jurisdiction and to check their country status before registering. For sign-up and country questions, see the account and availability questions.

The licences page explains what the VARA licence of Flipster FZE covers: Exchange Services under VASP Licence VL/26/07/002.

Perpetual futures compared with spot and dated futures

general product features

A perpetual contract gives leveraged price exposure, long or short, without owning the asset and without an expiry date. The price of that is funding for as long as the position is open, and the risk of liquidation.

Spot means owning the asset outright. Dated futures expire, so a position has to be closed or rolled.

The last row of the table gives the main drawback of each. Longer explanations are among the guides to perpetual futures in Flipster Learn. If you would rather follow another trader than place your own orders, read about copy trading for perpetual futures first.

Perpetual futures, spot and dated futures compared. General features of each product type, not Flipster contract terms.
FeaturePerpetual futuresSpotDated futures
Ownership of the assetNone: price exposure onlyYou own the assetNone while the contract is open
ExpiryNoneNoneFixed expiry date
Funding costExchanged between longs and shorts at every funding timeNoneNone; the futures price can differ from spot until expiry
Margin and liquidationLeveraged; closed when the mark price reaches the liquidation priceNo margin and no liquidation when bought outrightLeveraged; margin calls and liquidation apply
Typical useShort-term long or short exposure, hedgingHolding the assetHedging or exposure to a set date
Main drawbackFunding cost over time, liquidation risk, no ownershipThe full purchase amount is exposed to price falls; no short sideMust be closed or rolled at expiry; the gap to spot can move against you

Risks of trading perpetual futures

source flipster.io/policies/derivativeslast updated 2026-02-13

Flipster’s Derivatives Trading Terms describe derivatives as leveraged products that are “complex and may not be suitable for inexperienced investors”. Three risks follow directly from the contract design.

Read the risk disclosure for leveraged derivatives before you open a position.

Loss greater than your deposit

Leverage multiplies the effect of every price move on your margin. The terms warn that you can lose your entire deposit in a very short period of time, and that the amount you may lose is “potentially unlimited” and can exceed what you originally deposited.

Liquidation without notice

When the mark price reaches the liquidation price, the position is closed automatically, with no prior notice, and a liquidation fee of half the maintenance margin is charged. The service runs around the clock, so it can happen while you are away from the screen.

Funding costs

If you are on the paying side at a funding timestamp, funding is a cost. It recurs every 4 or 8 hours for as long as the position stays open, and the rate changes with the market. A position that is cheap to open can become expensive to hold.

Perpetual futures FAQ

answers checked

Do Flipster perpetual contracts have an expiry date?

No. A Flipster perpetual contract has no expiry date, so a position stays open until you close it or it is liquidated. Flipster’s guide defines perpetual swaps as cryptocurrency futures contracts without an expiry date. In place of an expiry, longs and shorts exchange funding at fixed timestamps, every 4 or 8 hours depending on the contract.

Are the contracts settled in USDT or in the coin?

In USDT. The BTCUSDT contract is quoted and settled in USDT, and one contract is worth 1 BTC, so closing a position pays or charges USDT and delivers no bitcoin. The gold contract, XAUUSDT, follows the same pattern: one contract is worth 1 XAU and it is quoted and settled in USDT.

What are the order size limits on BTCUSDT?

From 1 USDT to 3,000,000 USDT of notional per order. The maximum position is also 3,000,000 USDT of notional, the lot size is 0.000001 BTC and the tick is 0.1 USDT. These are platform-wide maximums read on 11 October 2026; the contract page says your own order and position limits may vary with your assigned trading tier.

How many positions and orders can I have on one contract?

Up to 50. Flipster’s margin guide allows up to 50 positions or pending orders per symbol. Each position is either isolated, with margin allocated to that position, or cross, with margin shared across your cross positions. With shared margin, one liquidation may affect all cross positions, so count open orders as well as positions.

Which company provides perpetual futures?

Flipster Corp, a company incorporated in the Republic of Panama. It is the counterparty to the Terms of Use and the Derivatives Trading Terms, and the site states no licence or regulator for it. Flipster FZE in Dubai is a separate company: its VARA VASP Licence VL/26/07/002 covers Exchange Services and is not stated to cover perpetual futures.

Can I trade perpetual futures from the UAE?

The published sources do not show that you can. Flipster FZE is licensed by VARA for Exchange Services under VASP Licence VL/26/07/002, issued on 14 July 2026, and its Public Disclosure describes spot trading only. Whether perpetual futures are open to UAE residents, and through which company, has to be confirmed by Flipster. Check your country status before you register.

Regulatory disclosure

ROWlast verified

Crypto perpetual futures on Flipster are provided by Flipster Corp, a company incorporated under the laws of the Republic of Panama, under its Terms of Use and its Derivatives Trading Terms. The site states no licence, registration or regulator for Flipster Corp.

Flipster FZE is a separate company. It is licensed by the Virtual Assets Regulatory Authority (VARA), Dubai, for Exchange Services under VASP Licence VL/26/07/002, issued on 14 July 2026. That licence is not stated to cover perpetual futures and does not extend to customers of Flipster Corp. More on the companies that operate Flipster.

What is not covered: as the risk warning says, your investments do not benefit from any form of financial protection. How client assets are held is described under proof of reserves and custody.

This page is for information only and is not investment advice. The terms were read on 11 October 2026 and can change.

Flipster Terms of Use, flipster.io/policies/terms, and Derivatives Trading Terms, flipster.io/policies/derivatives, read 2026-10-11. Licence facts from the VARA public register entry for VASP Licence VL/26/07/002, opened 2026-10-11.
Product providerFlipster Corp
Incorporated inRepublic of Panama
Licence or regulator, Flipster CorpNone stated on the site
Terms of UseLast updated 2026-06-24
Derivatives Trading TermsLast updated 2026-02-13
Governing lawEnglish law
DisputesSIAC arbitration, seat Singapore
Flipster FZE licenceVARA VASP Licence VL/26/07/002, Exchange Services
Licence issued2026-07-14
RegisterFlipster FZE register entry

Check the contract rules and your eligibility

BTCUSDT contract rulesAvailability by region